Land of the Pines

Headed down south to the land of the pines
And I’m thumbin’ my way into North Caroline
Starin’ up the road, pray to God I see headlights
I made it down the coast in seventeen hours
Pickin’ me a bouquet of dogwood flowers
And I’m a hopin’ for Raleigh
I can see my baby tonight…

Wagon Wheel, by Old Crow Medicine Show

79

The end of the year, and the holidays in particular, have always been a time of reflection for me.  Christmas, New Years, the holiday season…it all feels much like an epilogue to a hard-fought journey; we made it to another one, guys!  So many new events occur in a single year, every year – and the gathering of family and friends, the collection of faces you love, stories that made you laugh, memories that never disappear – I’ve always viewed it all as a peaceful, happy time to reflect on all of the changes that have transpired since last time around.

One thing continues to be a constant; later this week, I’ll be packing up my bags, loading the car, filling the gas tank and hitting the road to good ol’ North Carolina, to visit my family.  It’s a trip I’ve done many times, to the point where it feels more like an old friend than a long drive, and I’m looking forward to finishing this year the right way.

So as the snow comes piling down, here’s to a great trip – and here’s to a happy holiday season for all of you.

sunset

One thought on “Land of the Pines

Leave a comment!

