MBTI Typology

Over the last few years, I’ve developed an enormous fascination with the Myer-Briggs Type Indicator, the personality assessment tool developed by Isabel Briggs Myers and her mother Katharine Cook Briggs, inspired by the work of Carl Jung.  I’ve found that by learning more about type – especially when one really studies the test and learns the types of his/her friends, loved ones, coworkers, etc – it can have an amazing effect on one’s perception of his or herself, the world and the people around us.  Isabel Myers’ famous book on the subject, Gifts Differing, is a must read for anyone interested in subject; reading it for the first time made me realize how much the results of a simple personality test can really help people find find themselves, interact better with others and develop in a way that is natural for their needs, instead of struggling to become something that they’re not.

centralpark

When one learns about type, the qualities of other people that one once felt hostile toward – qualities that the other party might’ve once called wrong, or previously painted in a negative light – instead become differences.  Arguments are more easily resolved when the two people stop trying to turn the other person into a mirror image of themselves, and instead embrace one another’s differing functions, personalities and attitudes toward life.  If one person is extroverted, social, constantly abuzz with the latest gossip and another person is quiet, calculated and contained, it doesn’t mean that either person is better than the other – just that they’re different.

MBTI

So at this point, it seems only fair that I should mention my own type:

I am an INFJ.  To explain further, that means I am Introverted, iNtuitive, Feeling and Judging.  I gain my energy from solitude, privacy and alone time (introversion), I gather my information about the world through intuition, I usually make my decisions through compassion and empathy  (feeling), and in my interactions with the outside world,  I tend to be more methodical, planned and organized (judging) as opposed to spontaneous and impulsive.  INFJ’s, generally said to be less than 1-3% of the population, are characterized by their compassion, empathy and a strong desire to help others.

All of this is a bit of an oversimplification, of course.  As one reads more, one learns about such things as dominant and auxiliary functions, shadow sides and so on.  Fascinating stuff, all around.

midnight_beach3

So now, let me turn the conversation over to you guys?  What type are you? Let’s hear it!

If you don’t already know your type, the best thing is of course to pay for the actual test…however!  There are a number of imitation tests on the internet, which vary in quality.  Generally, I’ve found the best, most accurate online version of the test to be this one: Free Jung Personality Test on similarminds.com.  It’s about five minutes long, doesn’t require any signup and gives you your results immediately.

Have fun!

38 thoughts on “MBTI Typology

  1. Introverted (I) 75% Extroverted (E) 25%
    Sensing (S) 60.61% Intuitive (N) 39.39%
    Thinking (T) 50% Feeling (F) 50%
    Judging (J) 60.61% Perceiving (P) 39.39%

    Your type is: ISTJ

    ISTJ – “Trustee”. Decisiveness in practical affairs. Guardian of time- honored institutions. Dependable. 11.6% of total population.

    • Oh yeah, the percentages are often intriguing; it can be revealing to see which functions are decisively one way or the other, as well as which ones are on the line. It looks like you scored pretty close between thinking/feeling – and from the looks of it, you’re definitely very introverted.

  2. I’m ISTJ. Interesting test. 🙂

    Introverted (I) 81.82% Extroverted (E) 18.18%
    Sensing (S) 64.71% Intuitive (N) 35.29%
    Thinking (T) 65.71% Feeling (F) 34.29%
    Judging (J) 70.59% Perceiving (P) 29.41%

    ISTJ – “Trustee”. Decisiveness in practical affairs. Guardian of time- honored institutions. Dependable. 11.6% of total population.

    • Oh yes, the results are definitely pretty fascinating. I think what really separates the Myers-Briggs from many other personality assessment tools is that instead of trying to tell you who you are, this test measures how you function. Instead of boxing person X into box Y, the MBTI simply charts the ways that person X usually interacts with the world, which is why a person’s type can sometimes change over time.

  3. I am also an INFJ! What an intriguing test. Only as I grow older do I start to more clearly see my personality’s strengths and weaknesses and realize how they might affect others. Self-awareness comes with age I suppose. I love Carl Jung and I knew he was prolific in psychology, but I didn’t know his reach extended this far–as in two people were able to derive a personality test from Jung’s work. That’s amazing.

    • Yes, Jung’s reach is pretty amazing, isn’t it?

      I think that the most brilliant part of typology, the MBTI and so on is that it all recognizes the inherent differences in the ways that people function…and instead of trying to push everyone to fit into the same “perfect” mold, the Myers-Briggs instead tells us to celebrate our idiosyncrasies, and accept that the bizarre way that other people do things isn’t wrong – it’s just different.

      Every type has different strengths and different weaknesses; all types have different interests, different work ethics, different goals. But so long as any type person is allowed to flourish in the ways that are natural to him/her, instead of being pushed in the wrong direction, every type is equally capable.

      But yes, welcome to the INFJ club!

      • This could work wonders if incorporated into the educations system in accordance with the theory on different types of learning (kinesthetic, visual, etc.). Yes, I like the emphasis on just knowing your differences, so as to be able to work with them. INFJ club woo!

        • I completely agree! I think one of the key flaws of the education system, at least as it is now, is that instead of educating people to become better, more informed versions of themselves, the current system is generally focused on forcing every child/teenager/young adult into a factory mold. “Education” today isn’t about learning; no, it’s about memorizing facts and reciting them back, without actually thinking about what those facts actually mean.

          This isn’t the fault of the teachers, because there are many, many brilliant and wonderful teachers out there, doing their best and not getting the appreciation they deserve. Rather, it seems to me that the education system itself is too big, and giant systems like that (whether education, hospitals, etc.) tend not to value individual needs.

          But yeah, when one thinks about it, it’s totally bizarre that the current system educates every type person as if they were identical! An ESTP (extroverted sensing thinking perceiving) is definitely not going to learn things the same away as INFP, who won’t learn things the same way as an ESFJ, and so on. If one were to figure out what type every student is, and then educate them accordingly, it could lead to some amazing results.

  4. Introverted (I) 78.57% Extroverted (E) 21.43%
    Intuitive (N) 61.76% Sensing (S) 38.24%
    Feeling (F) 51.52% Thinking (T) 48.48%
    Judging (J) 54.29% Perceiving (P) 45.71%

    INFJ – “Author”. Strong drive and enjoyment to help others. Complex personality. 1.5% of total population.

    I feel like I passed a test.

    • Haha, I know the feeling. Welcome to the 1-3%, David.

      And yes, from my experience, the INFJ tends to be labeled either as “the author,” the “counseler” and/or “the prophet.” Hey, all sounds great to me!

  5. Great post! I think the Myers-Briggs test is an interesting concept and quite accurate. It’s something that has come up quite a bit in chats with my writers group lately, so I’m glad to read another post about it. There is an INFJ in my group, and she and I clicked almost instantly when we met (I’m an INTJ, which I’ve read is one of the rarest types for women). I have a hard time sometimes with FP types — mostly due to the decision-making process. Either way, it’s always fun to learn what types my friends and family are. At the very least, it makes it easier for me to understand and rationalize their thought process.

    Have you heard of the Enneagram personality test? It’s something I recently discovered. A different sort of test but interesting results, regardless.

    • Oh yeah, from my experience INTJs and INFJs definitely tend to have a very easy time with each other; both types are driven by very similar values, and both types tend to possess the same self-confident “I’ll-do-whatever-it-takes” stubbornness to get the job done, no matter what.

      Now, as far as Ps and Js go…haha, now there’s a familiar topic! I think the P/J difference is probably the one that can cause the most friction, and it certainly can cause a lot of stress when it comes to decision making, work relationships and so on, since Js are driven toward completion, closure and finishing the job, whereas Ps are all about enjoying the process, having fun with it, perfecting every detail, and so on. I remember that Keirsey said something akin to Js having a “work” ethic, whereas Ps have a “play” ethic – which isn’t a bad thing, it just means that both types work very, very differently. That said, I have seen that when both the J and the P come to an understanding about each other’s differences, it does tend to make things a lot easier.

      …and yes, I have indeed heard of the Enneagram! However, I have been meaning to retake it – and learn more about it, since it seems to have a very interesting setup – so thanks for the reminder. When I took it some years ago I believe I came up as an “Achiever” with a “Reformer” wing, but I could be wrong – the details are hazy.

      What type do you get, on that particular test?

      • Yes, stubbornness. That sounds about right. I’ve got more of it than I know what to do with. Interestingly enough, my INFJ friend is lacking in self-confidence and tends to be wracked with self-doubt. She’s told me on more than one occasion that she really admires my confidence. And I think, on some levels, my confidence sort of lifts her up. On the other hand, she does get things done. She makes her decisions and sticks with them, which is important to me.

        The Ps, as you said, are more driven to enjoying the process, but from personal experience, I’ve also found that they have trouble making concrete decisions, and that they are prone to changing their decisions in moments of self-doubt. (Perhaps this is something in conjunction with F?) I’ve also found that they’re more likely to make hasty, thoughtless, feeling-based decisions, which drives me CRAZY! I have a P friend who went out in search of a new car without any thought to the future (his financial issues, the long-term cost of what he was investing in, etc) and he ended up buying the “first thing he liked,” which was a large, new, gas-guzzling truck. A year later, he fully regrets the decision, and I have a hard time not saying “I told you so.” Even now, I can’t fully rationalize how he thought it was a good idea at the time — my TJ brain could have seen the incurring problems a mile ahead, but he never even took the consequences into consideration.

        The F types when combined with P seem to be the ones making these emotionally-based decisions, and I have a hard time understanding it. Even if it’s the most painful decision in the world, I will always make my choices based on logical, rational thought.

        For the Enneagram test, I fell fairly strictly into the “Challenger” type. My aforementioned INFJ friend came up with an interesting theory — that perhaps the Enneagram test results could be more indicative of upbringing, social issues, and other external factors that influence personality, whereas the Myers-Briggs test results are more inherent and static.

        There is an online version of the Enneagram test that was fairly accurate. How do you think your results correlate with you INFJ personality? I could talk all day about this — it’s a fascinating topic.

        • Haha! The P/J difference is definitely the most challenging one. I know it took me years to understand my P friends, and vice versa.

          I think that your INFJ friend’s theory could be totally spot-on. Because Myers-Briggs measures how a person functions – and for the most part, people will tend to interact with the world in whatever way they know best, from early childhood onward – a person’s Myers-Briggs type tends to be pretty inherent. Although an introvert can certainly develop their E side – and should, so that interaction with the world isn’t a struggle – it’s very unlikely for someone to actually make the jump over to becoming an extrovert, because that would require a fundamental alteration of one’s core personality, to the point where one wouldn’t really be the same person anymore. Basically, if you put an ENTP in any situation or lifestyle, though they might occasionally act differently, they’ll still be an ENTP.

          From what I know of the Enneagram, on the other hand, it does seem more fluid than solid – more influenced by social and external factors, and thus a person’s current type would be greatly tied in with that person’s current surroundings, goals, and so on. Like I said, I definitely need to research the Enneagram more, so I can gain a better understanding of it. I’ve been meaning to do so anyway, so this is probably a good opportunity to look up some books on the subject!

          On that note, I’ll probably go ahead and retake the test, too, to see what my current results are. Which online version of the test would you recommend?

  6. Well, I took the link you posted and it says I am ISFP. That surprises me, because about six years ago I took the Myers-Brigg test (on paper) and it said I was ISTJ. Apparently I’ve changed over the years. I think I like the “new” me…ISFP. Thanks for sharing that “Free Jung” link. (I’d like to pay that forward on my blog at some point.)

  7. Just read the “Jung Type Descriptions” for F and P, and now I have to say, “yikes!” The description for ISFP is so totally not like me (not 100% anyway). When I first commented that I thought I liked the “new” me, I was speaking to the FP part, in which I feel I am being way more considerate of others and their opinions and feelings and thought processes. I won’t be taking my new-found FP traits to heart, because that Jung description totally turns me off. Just saying’. Thanks for listening.
    P.S. I just purchased the Kindle version of your book, The Cage Legacy. Can’t wait to read it!

    • Haha! You know, it could simply be that while each of us has a certain “type,” we’re hardly bottled in. Regular day-to-day interaction with the world often requires that we use our less developed functions as well as our more developed ones. For example, an N like myself might primarily use his/her intuition function over sensing, but that N will also have to use their sensing abilities in order to do more mechanical tasks like driving a car – you can’t drive a car with intuition! Likewise, a T might generally make their decisions objectively, but when it comes to the desires of friends and family members, that T will often need to be more subjective and personal (F).

      Even for the most hardcore Js – and trust me, I’m definitely very, very J, myself! – it’s often better to us to use our P side when dealing with people, because people want freedom to express themselves without the advice, judgements and “hey-this-is-what-you-should-ACTUALLY-do” comments that us Js are inclined to give them. So what your results might actually be saying is that while, at your core, you are still an ISTJ, you’ve developed your F and P sides (when interacting with others) to such a point where, as you said earlier, you’ve found that you’re now more considerate of other people’s thoughts, opinions and so on. So if this is the case, you’d still be an ISTJ, but your interactions with other people are more FP than they used to be. This is a good thing!

      …and hey, I’m thrilled to hear that you got The Cage Legacy! Thank you for the support, it truly means the world to me. Enjoy the read!

  8. Nice post on personality type. I am an INTP, very introverted. I recently read that than Introverts, rather being drained by social interaction, are drained by being overstimulated which happens when we’re around a lot of people, loud parties etc. That made some sense to me because I get overstimulated easily in these situations. Nice post I enjoyed a refresher on the subject. Cheers! Tom

  9. I am an ENFP. It’s so weird that I’m the first extravert to make a comment here. ENFPs are… well…. I guess the short description is to say that we are the best! Hahaha! Do I sound like a troll? I swear I’m not.

  10. Reblogged this on NicholasConley.com and commented:

    I was discussing these matters the other day at dinner, and it occurred to me that since I posted this way back in 2014(!), there are now lots of new faces hanging around here at Writings, Readings, and Coffee Addictions.

    So let’s hear it, everyone! What type are you?

    As stated in the original post, I’m an INFJ.

  11. Like so many other women, I’m a ISFJ. It’s fascinating to revisit these types of tests over the years, while the outcome stayed the same, some of the percentages have shifted. I’m either growing emotionally, or just flat getting too old to move the needle. LOL

  12. If I recall correctly I was an INTJ, which my family found interesting because they don’t think I’m much of a thinker. They see me more as a “feeler” , but perhaps that’s where the N comes in as I’m intuitive.

    • That would especially make sense if they tend to be S, since intuitive thinkers form conclusions in an extremely different way than sensing thinkers do. It’s also tricky, because there’s no reason a T can’t be extremely compassionate: it’s just that for an F, the compassion comes before the objectivity… and if one is an introvert, of course, this entire process happens internally. A lot of the F/T dynamic comes down to how we make decisions: do we objectively weigh consequences, or subjectively? Both approaches have their strengths, but show the differences between how people’s lives evolve. Fascinating stuff, thanks for sharing!

Leave a comment!

