I’m home!

And after finishing my trip to Morocco, spending a couple of days in Barcelona, and finally making it back to Boston after a 24-hour period that included two stopovers, I’m both tired and happy to be back in the USA.

Of course, my mind is still trapped in a different time zone, but my body is now sitting in my office in New Hampshire, sipping on some coffee and catching up on everything that’s happened since I left.

hassilabied

Hassilabied

I have many pages of notes that summarize all of the amazing events that occurred in Morocco, but I’m going to need a few days to process everything before I write it out.

Camels, souks, snakes, desert landscapes…I don’t even know where to start! I could probably write three or four books about this whole trip.

I should have something written up by this weekend, which I’ll share with all of you then.  Needless to say, going to Morocco was one of the most amazing experiences of my life, and I can’t wait to tell you all about it.

In the meantime, as I play catch up, one of the more exciting parts of my return was coming back to see all of the new reviews for Pale Highway that have been popping up. In closing out this post, I’ll share a few of my favorite quotes so far.

It’s good to be back, and I appreciate the many comments that you all left in my absence!  I look forward to catching up with everyone.

Pale Highway - Nicholas Conley

Pale Highway – Nicholas Conley

First off, I’m excited to present this wonderful review by Ann Werner, the writer/actress who once played Eliana on Days of Our Lives.  Ann calls Pale Highway “a thoughtful journey into what it means to be human,” and says the following:

In the best tradition of writers like Stephen King, Conley stretches the imagination, provides thoughtful insight into what it means to grow old and lose parts of what once defined us and, in the end, takes us on a fantastical ride into the very nature of what it means to be human.

I loved this book!

Marian Thorpe of Wind and Silence also has great things to say:

Conley has worked in care homes with Alzheimer’s patients, and this is clear not only from his descriptions of the environment, procedures, and organization of these homes, but from his accurate, compassionate depiction of the residents. Pale Highway is a science-fiction story, but it is also speculative fiction, speculative in terms of what reality is and might be in the mind of a man with Alzheimer’s.

And to finish up this post, I’ll also share this review by my fellow coffee enthusiast J.D. Thompson:

Let me say this: Pale Highway is like nothing I’ve ever read before. At once a sci-fi, it remains at its core an intimate look at a man’s struggle with a devastating disease. Conley’s style of writing is solid but his greatest talent lies in his character development. The journey of getting to know Gabriel was absolutely touching. Conley has openly said that his work in a nursing home was a huge inspiration for Pale Highway and his connection to the patients shines through in his writing.

 

5 thoughts on “Back Home

  1. This is super exciting, Nicholas!! All the positive reviews that keep coming in make me more and more curious about Pale Highway. I cannot wait to hear all about your trip abroad. No rush, through.:) Sit back, relax, and let the words come to you when you’re ready.

Leave a comment!

