In this blog, my writing often dabbles in a lot of different areas: sometimes I write about my novels, other times I talk about my coffee obsessions. I write about today’s world, healthcare, travel blogs, books, movies, comics, and more; whatever grabs me on a given day. But as far as comics and movies go, I’m excited to reveal I’m now going to be writing about them for Screen Rant!

My first article for them, a Batman feature named 12 Things You Need to Know About Red Hood, can be found here on ScreenRant.com. In it, I discuss Batman’s former-Robin-turned-enemy the Red Hood, who rumor has it may be part of the storyline in the next Batman movie.

Also, check out my profile page on Screen Rant to see a listing of articles I’ve written for them (which at the moment is just this first one, of course). Cheers, and I hope you all had a great weekend!

12 Things You Need to Know About Red Hood

Unlike most Batman villains, who are largely motivated by personal gain, the Red Hood is out for what he believes to be justice. Employing militaristic tactics such as bombs, rocket launchers, and firearms, the Red Hood takes control of multiple criminal gangs, and uses these gangs to wage war against the crime lord Black Mask. He takes his vengeance on the Joker, and beats him nearly to death just as the Joker did to him years ago — only sparing the villain’s life for the sake of using him against Batman later on.

It is in his handling of the Joker that the deeply personal nature of Jason’s hatred of Batman is truly unveiled: Jason feels betrayed because Batman never killed the Joker. The former Robin can’t believe that Batman allowed the killer to go on living. To make his point, Jason kidnaps the Joker, holds him at gunpoint, and forces Batman to choose between either killing his former partner, or allowing that partner to kill his archenemy. Batman escapes from this choice through the use of his batarang (and the Joker’s use of nearby explosives), and Jason disappears.

bvs_bruce

 

 

17 thoughts on “ScreenRant.com: 12 Things You Need to Know About Red Hood

  1. Fantastic post! It’s very informative, engaging and a lot of fun to read. Also, big-big congratulations!! I look forward to your future articles.:)

  2. Enlightening. I have not watch it (or is it just a comic?) but I do enjoy the analysis from film and literature- a discussion I just had with someone else online minutes ago before reading this. I am certainly fascinated now about new Marvel and DC characters that portray the villains evolution of human complexity being both good and evil. I’ve been watching Jessica Jones and like it.

    • Jessica Jones is great! Gets better and better as it goes along. I loved the moral conflicts, as both the hero and villain are deeply complicated characters. That’s really the key, I think, in regard to making these larger-than-life characters work on a human level; it’s too simple if someone is just completely “good” or “bad,” as opposed to realistic characters that are capable of both, but make decisions that lead them in one direction or another.

      • Nods yeah, I agree…fusing a paradox from all characters (good, evil) to debate the ethical and moral questions. It gives depth. Jessica defied her super hero image for this reason. I finished the season. Now there will be two or three offshoots taking characters from the show. 🙂

  3. I’ve bookmarked your Screen Rant profile page, although I have a lot of catching up to do still with this genre. Perhaps I should start with Adam West and Burt Ward all over again and move up through the ages. Some days you just can’t get rid of a bomb!

Leave a comment!

