For today’s update, I’m thrilled to share some exciting news with everybody: this morning, I have a piece up on The Huffington Post!

Read it here: The Reality of Nursing Homes

huffpost

My feature, “The Reality of Nursing Homes,” is a new examination of a subject that, as you all know, is very close to me, and I’ve taken this opportunity to write about my personal experience, the many serious problems with the nursing home system, and where we go from here.

But the truly agonizing thing about nursing homes is the facelessness of the system that all of these residents live in, locked into a bureaucratic structure where the bottom dollar matters more than human individuality, and where countless people spend the rest of their lives inside tiny shared rooms, hoping for a day where they can finally go back home. A day that, for too many, will never come.

The reality of nursing homes in the 21st century is something we should face as a society, together, and find productive solutions for. Especially as an aging society, with a massive wave of Baby Boomers racing toward a point where huge decisions will have to be made sooner instead of later.

I’m excited to have the chance to share my thoughts on The Huffington Post, and with all of you as well. As always, thank you for your support, reading, and comments; I can never express how much I appreciate all of it.

Cheers,

Nicholas

26 thoughts on “The Huffington Post: The Reality of Nursing Homes

  1. Great article with excellent points. My husband’s aunt lived with us for eight years (from age 89 to 97) until she was too demented to stay at home. We were her advocates.

  2. Fantastic piece, I think it’s great that you are getting your message out there and that there are a lot who have been in the ‘industry’ that agree with you as well. Coffee vigilante, that made me smile.

  3. People seem to lose value in our society when they no longer have taxes withheld from their paychecks. Elderly, retired and the unemployed are categories of people viewed more as a “nuisance” than a contributory entity that adds value to society. This is a sad commentary. At what point in life do we lose our compassion for people? Do we not realize that one day (if fortunate enough) we will find ourselves in one of these categories? Are we ready to accept the role as “burden” on society? Each person offers value on some level. Finding a person’s role as they age creates meaning and keeps people socially engaged. This is a better path to follow than our current less humane one.

    • Your words ring true in so many ways. I really believe the common mantra that a society can really be judged on how it treats its sick, its elderly, and its needy, and in that regard, it’s clear that we as a culture have some work to do.

  4. Great article! I stumbled upon your post when I searched “nursing” and I’m glad I did. I worked at a nursing home straight out of nursing school and it’s incredible how much work they try to spread out between a few staff members. It leaves loved ones and nurses despondent and endangered. Hopefully there will be a solution within the next decade, but I don’t think this issue is in the spotlight enough. Thank you for your contribution.

Leave a comment!

