You know what’s insane? Skydiving.

You know what’s more insane than that?

…well, not much. At least, I’ve never experienced anything that feels more insane while it’s happening. My mind never stops flashing back to that moment where the door flipped open, air rushed inside, and every instinct in my suddenly very-mortal body was screaming to me that this whole “Hey, I’m going to jump out of a plane!” idea was not conducive to survival. You’re going to die! People can’t fall this distance! Then, the surrealness of actually doing it. Putting my legs out of the plane.

It’s like crashing through the gates of reality. Doing what you think is impossible.

Somewhere around the point where my feet were over the edge, and the desert landscape was spread out below, all sense of reality that I’ve perceived up until that point in my life totally shattered. The next 40 seconds — less than a minute spent flying through the air like a superhero, with adrenaline pumping harder than it probably ever has before — felt like it lasted for months, or even a year, in all the right ways.

And it was absolutely amazing. For anyone who has this one on their to-do list, all I can say is: don’t miss out.

What about you guys?

Have you ever gone skydiving, or thought about doing it? Let’s hear it!

25 thoughts on “Skydiving in Phoenix

  1. Very cool. They just opened up an indoor skydiving place and I intend to try it. If JWB can do it, so can I and I intend to in the near future. Not sure how it works, but if it’s something I like, I’ll try it for real.

  2. Those photos are just fantastic! I’ve never been tempted to skydive, but I have done “parapente” (I’m not sure of the word in English – it’s when you push yourself off a mountain with an open parachute, a bit like paragliding). I had a guide with me so all I had to do is sit back and enjoy the magnificent view of the Swiss Alps, not too bad at all!

Leave a comment!

