I don’t know about you, but I’m definitely tired of losing an hour of sleep every spring. Daylight saving time (DST) is the worst. Or maybe you’re a fan, in which case, my apologies.

Since I spent most of my childhood in Arizona, I can honestly state that I had never even heard of daylight saving time until adolescence, when we moved to the East Coast. Imagine, for a second, just how weird it sounded: “We’re setting the clocks back an hour? Why? Wait, is this some sort of prank?” All these years later, I’ve still never come to terms with it.

However, it just so happens that all this clock-switching is actually a lot more detrimental than we realize. It makes us sicker, sleepier, less focused, and does really bizarre things with Amtrak schedules. As regular readers here know, I’ve been writing for Grunge, and I decided to take a dive through time and research the long, sordid history of this biannual tradition. You can read it here: Bizarre Facts You Never Knew About Daylight Saving Time

intro-1510080159

As for me, now that I’m a New Englander, I’m pretty jazzed about the idea that the New England states might gang up and kick clock switching to the curb, in favor of year-long daylight saving. One thing’s for sure, now that we’ve “fallen back,” these 4pm sunsets are getting real old, real fast.

On the other hand, I’m really fascinated by the argument given by Matthew Yglesias of Vox, who suggests that we should eschew time zones altogether, in favor of a single “Earth Time” for the human race. Vox suggests that we all adopt a single 24-hour clock across the world, and stop the madness of trying to match each other all the time. It’s an interesting notion.

What do you all think?

8 thoughts on “Are you tired of daylight saving time?

  1. Definitely NOT a fan of DST (try explaining to dogs there’s going to be a change regarding dinner time!). My biorhythms never recovered this year from the switch and instantly became happier and felt more refreshed November 5 when we changed. It’s a silly exercise that has outlived its usefulness (assuming there was any). How delusional do you have to be to think you’re going to out game Father Time?

    • Haha, oh yeah, my dog (1 year old) hasn’t seemed to enjoy the switch too much either! I agree, it’s totally silly and I doubt all this clock-changing madness ever had any true benefit to begin with. I think I tend to prefer DST to standard time, but I’d happily take either one over having to switch my clocks over and over again.

  2. Not a fan of DST and NOT a fan of New England adopting a plan to make it permanent. I’ll take the early sunrise, in winter, as long as I can have a bit of daylight during my morning commuter. I’m on the road by 6:00am.

  3. Interesting. I’ve always thought it was sinister to lose a day when traveling to the other side of the world and visa versa. Into what dark hole did that day fall? What wonderful thing could have happened during that day that now will not….

    • Oh yeah, I know exactly the feeling you’re talking about! “Sinister” is definitely the right word. It’s like that lost day is lingering there, in some parallel reality, taunting you with the possibilities of what it might have contained…

Leave a comment!

